A Little Birdy Told Me…Week of 10/3/11

Happy Friday, everyone! It’s been a busy week, so no original post this week unfortunately. I know, I shake my head in shame, but it was because I had a few unexpected evenings to spend with the hubby (who usually works nights). Instead of working on my blog, I selfishly decided to to do more important, lazy things. Like watch “Your Highness” and sip on some last-of-the-season rose wine. (Now you’re probably shaking your head in shame at me…) Oh well, if you happen to be catching up on your social reading this weekend, here are a few links and posts of interest to share–enjoy!

What Does Eight Years of Blogging Get You? (by @mitchjoel via @DanBischoff):

Wow, I had just reflected on my one year of blogging, and here is a post about what it means to have blogged for eight! Mr. Joel is definitely one of the blogging pioneers—so he would have a thing or two to say about the value of the exercise and existence of the medium. It’s refreshing to read his reasons why blogging still matters, as it is an optimistic viewpoint to take in an age when we can instantly publish and share information in a more direct manner than ever.

And it’s giving me more reasons to keep it up, in the hopes I can reflect on eights year of blogging one day.

Dealing with Social Media Burnout in Higher Ed (by @mherek via @CASEAdvance):

I feel better that Matthew Herek admitted what happens to all of us at one time or another—things get busy and social media strategy or implementation is ignored.  This happens often in the business setting when projects and priorities collide. But Mr. Herek points to reasons why we make excuses for shoving our social media strategy to the way side when it comes to other projects. In doing so, we end up blaming the negligence on “social media burnout,” when in fact, it is a planning and integration issue. The burnout need not occur if you have a plan in place to maintain your social media efforts, especially as they relate to the relationships you’ve built over the course of communications.

FTC Disclosure Guidance for Bloggers and PR  (by Sara Hawkins via @smexaminer):

You know how much I like the legal stuff, and this detailed and straightforward post about FTC disclosure guidance for bloggers is right up my alley. Ms. Hawkins’ post is long but well worth the read, as it provides a background for why the FTC is concerned with blogger and social media disclosure. She also provides pointers about how PR folks with blogger outreach plans and the bloggers themselves can adhere to these guidelines as best they can.

Now I know if someone sends me a pink unicorn product to test out, I will duly note that disclosure in my review of said pink unicorn product.  So, all I need is someone to send me a pink unicorn product to test…just sayin’… ;)

A Question of In-House Video Production (by @gareth_case):

This post struck a chord with me because it’s a situation unfolding at my job currently—my department has decided to produce video content in-house and I am partially responsible for planning/scripting/filming/editing said content (!) So, while the alarms have been going off in my head the last few weeks, I found solace in Mr. Case’s update and the link to the discussion in his previous post. He demonstrates that the most basic and simple of video content can be produced in-house, although a vendor-produced video would be flashier at first.

I think it comes down to resources, both financially and physically, and the risk your department or company is willing to take. In Mr. Case’s situation, he’s willing to take a chance and learn these skills himself.  And I hope to do the same as well!

And to leave you all with a little humor, here is a clip from the above-mentioned movie I watched instead of writing my blog this week. While you may not know the context of this scene, you’ll see why I couldn’t stop laughing at how they spoke in Renaissance accents and threw in modern-day curse words. (Beware–there are a few coarse words used in this clip)

October 7, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , . blogging, public relations, social media.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

