Summer Blogging Vacation

Image(s): FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Wow, I’ve really let this blog slip. But I don’t know if I feel that guilty about it.

Upon reading an honest post from Paul Roberts a few weeks ago, regarding his blogging hiatus, I realized I was not alone.

I started this blog along the same lines as Paul explains– to familiarize myself with the communications tools that are becoming more prevalent these days, i.e. social media.

It also helped me to better understand what it means to build and maintain a social media community around a topic.

I challenged myself to post regularly and to also keep up with content on Twitter, which I tend to use as a news aggregator and as a means to connect with other smart people interested in the same topics as me.

But what started as a blog on public relations and social media trends as a means to educate myself changed. Most significantly, it was due to a career change about a year and a half ago to alumni relations.

So, as I move into a new fiscal year (as the academic calendar moves), I find my job responsibilities changing in a challenging but good way.

I need to focus on what is important for my team and for my institution. That might mean taking the few hours I had set aside for blogging for working on planning and executing upon my strategies. I’m also preparing to enroll in graduate school (again) as I’ve found an interesting area of study in Adult and Organizational Development that complements my interests in organizational communications.

All this is to say that I am taking a little bit of a summer vacation from blogging regularly.

I thought I’d have more time after the Memorial Day vacation, but the opposite has proven true.

Instead, I need to focus on my job, while also saving my few free moments for time that I can enjoy. If that means writing a new blog post, then so be it. If that means taking the dog for a walk with my husband, then that’s nice too.

I have learned so much from this experience that I can’t say that it’s coming to a definite end. I truly treasure the connections I’ve made with other blogging pro’s out there and would not want to trade that in for the world. I know it sounds sappy, but with my small community, I’ve gained a lot in confidence that no “professional” experience could have ever given me.

So, here’s to a summer vacation like we used to look forward to in grade school. Remember those days? Wasn’t it fun to sleep in on the weekdays, go to summer camp, play with your friends, read books in your treehouse, and just enjoy your free time?

I hope you all have a summer with moments like that–moments when you can enjoy what you love to do. I promise to come back from time to time, and might be appearing on other blogs every now and then.

Have a wonderful summer, everyone!

July 3, 2012. blogging.

2 Comments

  1. paulrobertspar replied:

    Krista, enjoy your time off. More school!? Good for you. Thanks for the mention too.

    I’m glad our blogging ‘careers’ overlapped. I’ll be checking in from time to time as I expect you will be back at some point.

    I really have enjoyed reading your posts and getting to know you through this blog.While I’ll miss reading your posts, I’m very happy for you and I wish you all the best and hope you enjoy an old-fashion summer vacation.

    • Krista replied:

      Thanks, Paul! It’s been really great getting to know you too and learning from your posts. Here’s to a great summer :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

